This is part of the Dance Spot series highlighting different places to go dancing in SF Bay Area.

Dance Spot: For Dancers Only
Price: $8
Time: 1st, 3rd, & 5th Fridays, 8:30-9:00pm Intermediate workshop, 9:00-11:45pm Social dancing
Location: Dance Studio, Sunnyvale Community Center (same building as Theater)
950 Michelangelo Dr, Sunnyvale, California 94087

Although I live close-by, I didn’t make my way to For Dancers Only until now, partially because I wasn’t confident in my Lindy Hop abilities. I parked around 8:40pm, but didn’t actually find the Dance Studio for another 15min. Sunnyvale Community Center turned out to have multiple buildings, and people walking around don’t know about the Theater and Dance Studio building. It didn’t help that I parked on the other side of the area.

Finally, I saw a familiar face from Wednesday Night Hop who pointed me towards the Dance Studio. She also mentioned that I would like it because there’s very skilled leads. I worry that they may do fancy moves that I can’t do, but she reassured me that they’d adjust to my level. Upon paying my $8, I received a 4th time free card — if you come three times within three months, you get the fourth time free!

As I walk in, the intermediate workshop was teaching The Lindy in the Park Routine. It looked like a difficult routine to cover in half an hour, so this event is definitely catered towards experienced dancers.

ezgif.com-crop.gif

As social dancing starts, I recognize dancers from Stanford Lindy ProjectSouth Bay Fusion and Friday Night Waltz as well. As I dance with unfamiliar leads, I realize they are indeed adjusting to my level to ensure I find the dance enjoyable.

DSC01724-ANIMATION

 

 

What’s also nice about this venue that is not always found elsewhere is a whole wall of mirrors. So occasionally, a few people would practice dancing with the mirror.

ezgif.com-crop (2)

As I leave for the night, a dancers asks if I play Pokemon Go (Yes, I do). So he gave me some tips about the Pokemon and PokeStops in the area, and accompanied me as I walked back to my car on the other side of the Community Center.

ezgif.com-crop (3)

ezgif.com-crop (4)

